WNBA All-Star Game Lineups & Special Rules

WNBA All-Star Game Lineups & Special Rules post thumbnail image

The 18th annual WNBA All-Star Game is loaded with talent, per usual, and they have announced that they are implementing 3 new rules for this years event to add excitement and enhance the pace of play.

The game will be played at the Wintrust Arena, home to defending champions the Chicago Sky, kicking off at 1pm Eastern, on ABC on Sunday, July 11th.

The 2 rosters for the game, are listed below. Team Wilson is headed by A’ja Wilson (her second time as captain) and team Stewart is fronted by Breanna Stewart

-Candace Parker was the first overall pick.

-Sylvia Fowles and Sue Bird have announced that they are retiring at the end of the season, and were named co-captains for the event as WNBA Icons.

-Sue Bird extends her all-time record of All-Star selections to 13.

-The League announced 7x All-Star Brittney Griner would be announced as an honorary All-Star and starter.

-There are Eleven former number 1 draft picks featured on these two teams, 9 of them in the starting lineups.

-Starting 5 for Team Wilson: (team will be wearing orange jerseys)

  • A’ja Wilson, Las Vegas Aces
  • Sylvia Fowles, Minnesota Lynx
  • Candace Parker, Chicago Sky
  • Kelsey Plum, Las Vegas Aces
  • Sabrina Ionescu, New York Liberty
  • -Starting 5 for Team Stewart: (team will be wearing black jerseys)
  • Breanna Stewart, Seattle Storm
  • Sue Bird, Seattle Storm
  • Jackie Young, Las Vegas Aces
  • Jonquel Jones, Connecticut Sun
  • Nneka Ogwumike, Los Angeles Sparks

-Team Wilson will be led by Becky Hammon, who is the head coach of the Las Vegas Aces, and Team Stewart will be coached by Chicago Sky’s James Wade. Both head coaches are bringing on their entire coaching staff as well.


  1. 4-Point Shot: There will be 4 circles on the court, 2 on each side, located outside the three point arc, at distance of 28 feet from the rim. Any player who executes a shot from this designated area will be credited with 4 points.
  2. 20 Second Shot Clock: To speed up/enhance game play, the standard 24 second shot clock is being shortened to 20. After an offensive rebound, the clock will reset to 14.
  3. NO Free Throws: This is probably my favorite. There will be AUTOMATIC points for free throw attempts. For any situation where free throws were to be attempted, the player will receive full point credit for the maximum shot attempts that were to be made on the specific play. The only time free throws will be attempted will be the final two minutes of the 4th quarter, and the entirety of any overtime periods, if any take place.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *